Sunday, July 13, 2014

Year of the Horse うまどし

Year of the Horse

2014 is the Year of the Horse うまどし Umadoshi
In Japan each year has an animal sign assigned to it. There are twelve animal years, last year was the year of the snake.
In order the years are the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog
and wild boar. It is believed, according to About, that this animal zodiac was adopted for use in 604 in the reign of Empress Suiko.